Comfort Zone

“Coming out of your comfort zone is tough in the beginning, chaotic in the middle, and awesome in the end…because in the end, it shows you a whole new world !!
Make an attempt..”  ― Manoj Arora

Unless you are 1990’s Tony Hawk, or 2000’s Shaun White, chances are there is someone better then you. In my world, that’t not a terrible thing. Of course the competitive side of me wishes I were the best, but the reality is, it’s fun to have friends who push me to be better. Growing up skiing I was never the fastest, nor would I drop many of the cliffs my friends did, but it was still awesome to rip around with them. As I get older (I acknowledge 25 is not old) fear plays more of a roll in my decision making, so it’s nice to have friends who will push me to be better.

My friend Suz and I decided to do a morning ride on Vail Mountain the other day and it was AWESOME. After a lungs on fire climb from Mid-Vail to Eagle’s Nest (map) we decided on a blue downhill trail called Big Mamba. This trail is a combination of all the fears I have been working on conquering: rocky, trees, switchbacks and more. I chased Suz down the trail and it was exhilarating! Still taking baby steps. No huge drops or black trails in my foreseeable future, but I will definitely be doing Big Mamba again!

photo

3 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

    1. Going to ride to that radio tower across the street from SB.
      Remember we drove to those unfinished homes about a mile up? It’s going to be tough..

Leave a Reply

