Somewhere Between

I started this blog with the purpose of documenting my physical adventures like biking or traveling, but it seems to have turned into more or a combination of the emotional through the physical. I suppose all journeys have aspects of both, it just wasn’t my goal. Last week, though, I realized my post ideas were not just about how hard a trail was physically, but where about how they made me feel. I recognize that might sound like I live with my head in the clouds, but I would like to just think I adventure with intention. (Thank you Jedd and Michelle, jeddandmichelle.com, for the idea of intention).

Kristen, what does all of that even mean?! This post has taken me nearly a week to write, because truly I don’t know how to explain it. Yet again, it all started with a bike ride. 

I am sure many people can relate to the idea that the hardest part about working out is actually getting started. Once you start you get into the rhythm and by the end you feel great. Last Sunday, it was hot and a storm was brewing to the west and the last thing I wanted to do was ride to the top of a mountain when there was a lightning strike. Thankfully, I have a few friends who are good motivators. Suz suggested that instead of my original plan of riding from the base of the mountain to the top, I take the gondola and ride across the mountain. There are still some climbs, but it’s much less daunting and “you will feel much better.” So, off I went.

photo

I started across a trail called the Grand Traverse, made it half way up the first climb and decided to call it a day. Weak. I know. BUT on my way back I ran into an old coworker/friend, James, and decided to turn around (again) and ride with him. Let me tell you, riding with someone even when you are too out of breath to talk to them makes a HUGE difference in motivation. As we started the Traverse across Vail’s Back Bowls we started talking about life and what its like to be a 25 year old in a mountain town who has bigger aspirations than doing low wage seasonal jobs.

I am an extremely extroverted person, but lately it’s just been easier to keep to myself. Sure, I have friends and I do spend a fair amount of time with those friends, but I am completely at ease being alone. As I was explaining to James, I could see his head nodding in front of me (we were riding a single track), so I ended my story with, “you know?.” Sometimes people ask that and you look back and are like, “no, I have no idea what you were talking about.” But he did. He had been through the same transition of wanting to move past going to the bars every night to what really matters in my life or what do I want in life? But at the end of the day it all works out the way it’s meant to.

Obviously in the last week I have not figured out the answer to that question, but it made me realize that no one is ever alone. Life happens to everyone. The good, the bad, and the ugly and at the end of the day the best advice can come from the most unsuspecting people. 10494789_10152139399482064_8415916138220367771_n

 

Loosely inspired by The Daily Post: Between

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

