Manic Training

Oh.My.Goodness. I am so sore! My gym membership expired at the beginning of July, which was fine because to be honest I had been much in June anyway. The gym is at one end of the Valley and I work on the other, plus it was too nice to be inside. That’s not to say I didn’t exercise (I have this blog to prove it), I just wasn’t going to the gym. 

I had seen this place called Manic Training on Facebook, but I never really knew what it was. Conveniently, it is located right next to the rafting company I now work for. I figured I would use the free week to try it out and if I liked it I had no excuse not to go because it is literally 30 feet away from where I work. If I didn’t go I was being straight up LAZY.

After a conversation with one of the trainers we came to the conclusion that there were enough modifications for my back to make it through the work out. A few more days of procrastination and I convinced my friend Caroline to come with me. She is kind of a beast when I comes to exercise. She runs a lot and played lacrosse in college, so I knew she would be a good motivator for me, but also be able to see the pain in my face even if I wasn’t willing to admit when my back was hurting.  The easiest way for me to explain Manic is to compare it to Crossfit. To be fair, I have not done enough of either or Manic to actually compare the two, but in my novice opinion they are pretty similar. To break down the class: there is a daily workout that is composed of sets and reps. For a better idea of what that looks like:

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 1.41.52 PM

I was tired before we even finished the warm up. I knew it was going to be LONG, so I tried to pace myself through the remainder of the the sets. There wasn’t anything easy about completing the workout and this is basically how I felt at the end:

10511637_726585227383040_89320317036144349_o
Photo Credit: Manic Training Vail Valley

There were 4 other people in our class who were all super supportive and patient with us newbies and when the workout was done, they decided to try the July Challenge. Make the workout longer?? Hellsss no. But these crazy dedicated people decided to see how long they could do weighted planks (planks with 25lb weights) for. One guy set the gym record at just over 4 minutes.

July Challenge: Weighted Plank, Photo: Manic Training Vail Valley
July Challenge: Weighted Plank, Photo: Manic Training Vail Valley

All in all, I really liked the class and I will definitely go again. It has been so long since I have been truly exhausted by a workout. I bike, and I get tired, but rarely do I get sore; though, hopefully next time I won’t be SO sore!

 “The best activities for your health are pumping and humping.” – Arnold Schwarzenegger (yeah, I went there)

Leave a Reply

