All Growed Up

Grown up. Big kid. Adulthood. As a kid we all imagine what it must be like to be an adult. I could be anything I wanted to be: a lawyer, a doctor, a professional athlete. I had aspirations of being a doctor for a little while, then I made it to high school science and vowed to never take a science class again. (I said the same thing about math and took math and/or statistics every semester of college.) I saw growing up as very linear: graduate from college, get a job, work hard and make some money, get married, have kids (I do want those things).

Turns out, though, its not linear at all. In 2011, I graduated from college without a job. I managed to string a few joimagesbs together until leaving for the Peace Corps, but mostly I just lived off of my savings.  Then I came home from the Jamaica thinking that my Peace Corps experience might actually mean something, but no one really cared. Instead, I lived at home with my step mom and went back the teaching skiing–the same job I did before I graduated from high school. Talk about morale being low.

I guess I am an adult now. I live in a house with roommates and am (mostly) financially independent. But, is it the vision of being an adult I had had when I was little? Definitely not!  I am an aspiring business owner who is still piecing jobs together to keep a roof over my head and fund my random adventures and hobbies. I love working for a rafting company, but its not my dream for forever. In the mean time, however, I am going to continue to do the things that make me happy because being anxious about the future is a terrible feeling.

If you could tell something to your 25 year old self, what would you say? Comment below.

Inspired by the Daily Post: Adult Visions

One thought on “All Growed Up

Leave a Reply

