My Life in Network Marketing

Truth be told, I didn’t really know what I was signing myself up for. I saw a business opportunity. I saw a chance to make money in a terrible economy. A chance to own my own business when I never thought myself skilled or creative enough to actually pull it off. What I didn’t realize was that people would judge me. They don’t understand my reasoning for starting my unfranchise business with Market America. They see that I joined a “pyramid scheme.” What does that mean? There is one person at the top who makes all of the money and the minions at the bottom do all the work to make that person rich? Correct me if I am wrong, but that sounds very similar corporate America. A friend said to me the other day the difference there is you are getting paid vs paying to be a part of the business. My response was, if you are paying to be in the business, you’re doing it wrong. Sure there are fees associated with the multimillion dollar website I have at my disposal, but it sure beats having to build a website like that on my own. I consider myself a product of the product, so my monthly requirement is completely manageable. It really isn’t any different than paying dues to be part of a professional organization like PSIA or AIA, as two examples. It’s funny because there is an ad on the radio that talks about “moms making six figures” but you don’t have to sell or market. Thats the very definition of a business:

busi·ness (biznəs)/noun

the practice of making one’s living by engaging in commerce.

“the world of business”

synonyms:

trade, trading, commerce, dealing, traffic, merchandising

I like to think that my education has served me well, so having a business that doesn’t in some way sell something seems crazy. But, again, maybe that’s just me. Now that I have moved to Boulder, I have connected with some other distributors and we are kicking butt. No, I am not making millions, but for me success isn’t just monetary. I have definitely grown as a person: worked through social anxiety to get better at networking, my presenting skills have improved, and I get overly excited for other people’s successes. There is a group of about 10 people who look up to me as a leader. We aren’t financially connected, so some might say there is no incentive for us to help each other, to me thats ridiculous. I have the opportunity to work with driven, entrepreneurial people, why wouldn’t I? Their motivation got me to talk to the gym I work at and see if they were interested in retailing products. Last week the marketing manager and I set a goal to retail at least $1,000 a month. Is that huge? No. It’s a start.

“My interest in life comes from setting myself huge, apparently unachievable

challenges and trying to rise above them.’ – Richard Branson

Leave a Reply

