The perks of being friend-less

Friend-less is a bit of an exaggeration. I know people who live in Boulder. They are mostly people I went to high school with or worked with at Vail . Its sort of hard to explain why I don’t reach out to them, but mostly its because they have established themselves here and I want to do the same–in my own way. That’s not to say that I don’t want anything to do with them or that I don’t reach out for coffee and other fun stuff, but I want to find my group of people. 

I have taken advantage of my nearly unemployed and very free schedule by attending various events around town. I was finding it very difficult to be done with work at 10am and have the rest of the day to myself. Some people might love that, but when you don’t have people to enjoy the day with it gets very lonely very fast. Initially, I dove into my shop.com business and made an effort to do trainings and create a strategy to grow. It didn’t take long to realize that my business wasn’t actually going to grow if I wasn’t meeting people. So, I created an account on meetup.com. For those of you who don’t know what Meetup is, it is not a dating site. It is a site where you can join a group with common interests and attend events they put on. Here are a few of the groups I have joined: Boulder Social Hikers, Daring Divas (a group for female entrepreneurs), Boulder Chaos (another outdoor group), Spanish Meetup, Grassroots Yoga. There are TONS of different groups, so its just a matter of finding a group that you feel like you can be a part of.  Here are some of my favorite adventures (Click for full captions):

At this point you might be thinking, “how can you not have friends you go to all of these things?” I do have friends, and I have met a number of people I want to continue to get to know. However, I didn’t move to Boulder with a network of people to rely on. It has forced to me be my true extrovert self  and go into social situations that have caused me a lot of anxiety in the last year. It would be really easy for me to skip events and sit at home alone, yet staying at home, knowing I could be having human interactions, gives me more anxiety. So, being friend-less and giving myself a fresh start has been fun and terrifying all at the same time. I am young and don’t have anything holding me in one place, so why not?

2 thoughts on “The perks of being friend-less

Leave a Reply

