Workforce Adventures

Social media is funny to me. Don’t get me wrong, I am quasi-addicted to Facebook and Instagram. If I go to check a text message I end up going through my email, Facebook, Instagram and probably back to Facebook even though I had checked it five minutes prior. I post regularly, but not in an obnoxious “I am eating breakfast” and a few hours later “I am eating lunch” sort of way. I selectively share articles I come across, but mostly I post pictures of my adventures. At this point it’s probably a cliche, but I love posting pictures with applicable quotes. Sometimes I struggle to find my own words, and there is a reason famous authors exist. What is funny to me about social media is that you really get to portray a reality that you want. Some people chose to live their emotional ups and downs, breakups or fights, and whatever other negative emotions you might come up with through their pages, but I try to keep mine about my adventures and my friends.

A few weeks ago I was in the Vail for the GoPro Mountain Games and it occurred to me that most people don’t know that the last couple of months have been more or less an emotional down for me. I had started a six month contract with a financial group in December thinking it would turn into a full time job; however, they decided to end my contract before then. So, I am back to being without a full time employment and sending out my resume over and over. Job searching is draining. You’ll come across a posting that gets you excited about potentially getting it only to receive an email that says, “We have decided to go with a more qualified candidate.” The best is when you get that email and see the job posted a few weeks later.

This time around “unemployment” has been different for me. I was lucky enough to find a wonderful recruiter for a temp agency when I moved to Boulder. Yeah, my last position didn’t work out as planned, but that speaks more about the organization I was working for than my recruiter. The last couple of months have been more “FUNemployment” than not. I was fortunate to have been making decent money in my last position and was able to save. Don’t get me wrong, I would much rather have a stable income and a little more structure in my daily schedule, but I have had some pretty good days. My dad came to town and I was able to spend time with him, I was able to catch up with friends in Vail before they left for their summer adventures around the globe, and I’ve been able to work with people I would have never otherwise met.

The cool thing about working with a temp agency is that always have short term projects that come up. I have pretty solid administrative assistant skills in that I can answer the phone and actually communicate on a semi-competent level, so I have been able to fill a few of my days working as a receptionist at various companies. Its not glamorous, and sometimes its downright boring, but now I know a ton about internet security software AND that there are entire companies devoted to manufacturing heaters for RVs. Be jealous.

My family jokes that I have champagne taste, and they aren’t wrong except that they forget that I get it from them. Most times that applies to material things, like the fact that my car is 10 years old and I know I will need a new one sooner than later but I’m putting it off because the car I want I can’t afford (#firstworldproblems). However, in many ways it applies to my job search as well. I am not applying for director or even manager level jobs, but I don’t want to be a Starbucks barista. I am not saying there is anything wrong with that, it just doesn’t appeal to me in any way, shape, or form. To be fair, I don’t know nearly enough about coffee or the specialty drinks people order to know how to make them, so props to you baristas who put up with that nonsense.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that the right position will come along–or that maybe I will the lottery–but in the mean time I just have to keep on smiling and posting pictures of biking.

*If you feel so inclined to follow me on Instagram check out @KristenCaples

Leave a Reply

