Hocus

Hocus the Magical Mutt

In March, I started a job as a marketing analyst for a marketing services agency in Denver. Most of our conversations recently have been around content marketing and how companies publish blogs, whitepapers, and other articles to create awareness not only about the organization but hot topics in marketing. I have used my blog a few times to show and explain how they are tracked (and a ton of other jargony things I could talk about) and it made me realize I haven’t posted in almost an entire YEAR! So, because I’ve decided to procrastinate this morning, I want to introduce Hocus the Magical Mutt (#HocustheMagicalMutt)!

12341510_10206227982553436_8289112210566789727_n

Last summer about this time, I started my search for a furry friend. I submitted an application with Summit Dog Rescue in Boulder and ended up fostering a dog named River. I knew right away the River was not my forever dog, but he had nowhere else to go, so for 5 long months he lived with me. We were able to move him to a new foster just before Thanksgiving and I was going to get through the holidays before fostering again. Then there was the dreaded email “FOSTER NEEDED – BEAUTIFUL AUSSIE AT HSA IN ARKANSAS.”

This spectacularly handsome, intelligent canine doesn’t know any expression but a heart-felt smile.  He remained totally focus on his human for the entire photo shoot.  Hocus takes treats respectfully, walks easily on leash and does a sit/down on request. He really wants to please. At this point in his life Hocus will need a home with a privacy fence.

How do you say “no” to that face?! Let me tell you, you don’t!

On December 2, Hocus arrived smelling like a barnyard after 18 hours in a van transport from Arkansas. He was cautiously curious about the world and eager to please. Unfortunately, his list of medical problems was quite long. He was heartworm and ehrlichia positive before he left the shelter in Arkansas and he got kennel cough during transport. Within his first 5 days of being with me, we had 2 ER vet visits and 2 regular vet visits. Within that first week, I was pretty sure he was never going to live with anyone else.

Backstory: Hocus is a 2 1/2-year-old Blue Merle Australian Shephard. He was found as a stray and brought to a kill shelter. Because of his heartworm positive status, they were going to put him down unless he was rescued or adopted. Emotionally, he seems to be just fine, but he has a broken K9 tooth and obvious scars on his pads. Other than that, he’s happy, healthy, and the most cuddly dog around.

Over the course of the next 4 months, we worked on curing all of his various diseases including aggressive heartworm treatment. There were days he wouldn’t leave the floor of my closet (his preferred sleeping place). Papa Rich brought him the Cadillac of dog beds for Christmas (after trying to convince me I shouldn’t keep him), and he loves it more than anything else my spoiled rotten dog has. On March 19, when he was declared heartworm free, I officially adopted him!

Hocus has become my sidekick in all things. He comes to work with me every day and I don’t even know where he is half the day because he seems to have his own meetings he has to attend. My favorite thing about Hocus, though, is that he is the ultimate adventure buddy. We hike and camp and run (yes, you read that last one right), and he is always right there – leash or not! 🙂 I have struggled with anxiety for the last few years and he is the best thing that could have possibly happened to me – vet bills and all!

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 10.16.38 AM

Leave a Reply

